Showing posts with label Student Activity. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Student Activity. Show all posts

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Student Tracking Reports in ANGEL

If you want to use student tracking in ANGEL, turn it on before any student activity occurs. For JCCC's setup we've, by default, turned off tracking for each course, each semester. Tracking only begins to work after it is enabled. If tracking is turned on at some point after student activity begins, any reports will appear faulty for dates prior to the date and time when tracking was enabled.

By the way, you can turn on tracking at the folder level and that setting will cascade to all items within the folder. Turning on tracking for an entire folder of items is a lot easier than going to each individual item in the folder to enable tracking.

It’s also important to note that if a user exits ANGEL by closing their browser (as opposed to logging off using the ANGEL ‘Power’ button), ANGEL will not accurately record the tracking data for the student in that session.

Monday, August 31, 2009

Warning about Merged Course Rosters

If you’ve merged two or more sections of the same course, do not enable any of the original courses (whose rosters were merged). If you enable them, students will see the original courses (in their Courses nugget) in addition to the merged course. The end result is confusion for the student and the possibility that you may have student activity in both the original and the merged courses (which cannot be combined).

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Updated Information on Copying Course Content

We’re learning as we go. Contrary to our previous understanding, you can use the Manage > Import Wizard > Copy Course command to copy content from a source course into a production course even after students have been added to the course but not after the course opens and there’s student activity. Here’s an update:
  • The Copy Course function copies content into the target course but leaves students enrolled.
  • If you have student activity such as email and tracking information (such as the number of log-in sessions), that information is not overwritten by the Copy Course.
  • If students have taken assessments or submitted assignments, that information is overwritten.

In summary, use the Copy Course feature before the course is opened up to students (typically, first day of classes) but not on or after that date.

Labels