Showing posts with label Course Copy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Course Copy. Show all posts

Thursday, August 26, 2010

No Email Confirmation of Your Course Copy?

When you copy a course in ANGEL to another course shell, you see a message indicating that an email confirmation will be forthcoming. Unfortunately, that doesn’t happen unless you set your email preferences to send email to an external mailbox. Here are the steps.
  1. Select the Preferences icon (head silhouette icon on left).
  2. Select System Settings.
  3. Add your email address to the Forwarding Address field.
  4. Change Forwarding Mode to “Forward My Mail and keep as New.”
  5. Click the Save button.

Friday, February 26, 2010

ANGEL Tip – IMPORTANT! Do not use Copy Course mid-semester!

Your source course is a great place to develop your courses. You can experiment and rearrange and develop your course, and then use Copy Course to copy it into your production (live) course before the start of the semester.

Once the semester has begun, you want to work directly in the production course! If you add content to your source course and then use Copy Course to copy it to your production course, you will overwrite all student work and grades in your production course. To avoid this, work directly in your production course. If you have more than one section of your course, you can use Utilities > Export Item to copy an item to your other courses.

At the end of the semester, you can use Copy Course to copy your production course back into your source course so that it retains the most recent version of your course. You can then change dates and make any other updates you need for next semester, and then use Copy Course to copy it to your new production courses BEFORE the beginning of the semester.

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

The Course Copy Function: More Detail

The Copy Course function (Import Wizard > Copy Course) is designed to copy course content not make changes to course enrollments (the Roster). When you copy course materials, the Copy Course function replaces any existing course materials as well as any student submissions related to the “overwritten” (previously existing) course content. The original content and related submissions will be replaced (lost) as a result of the import process.

So, in essence, students can be enrolled into a blank shell or a course where the faculty member is still importing content, using the Import Wizard > Copy Course process and the student and faculty enrollments remain in the course. Only the content is being replaced. Any student submissions will be lost as they are tied to the original course content that has now been overwritten with the new course content. The copy process only copies learning objects, grade book settings, agents, saved reports, theme settings, but not students.

Labels